The Mediation and Dispute Resolution of the Maryland Judiciary provides an opportunity for parties to reach an agreement earlier in the dispute process. This could save time and money, as mandatory mediation is not binding. In New York, anyone can volunteer as a mediator, but court rosters require experience and training. Generally, applicants must have at least 40 hours of approved training and individual jurisdictions may impose additional requirements.
Contact your local court for more information. The state's Dispute Resolution Centers (DRC) offer two alternative dispute resolution processes to parties with litigation pending in Court. The parties work with two mediators, an attorney and a judge, who help the participants reach their own voluntary agreement for the total or partial resolution of the issues under appeal, in addition to any other issues relevant to the underlying dispute between the parties. The Mediator can provide legal information, but cannot provide legal advice because they are a neutral party. For domestic relations cases, applicants must have a doctor of law degree or a graduate degree in conflict resolution OR 80 hours (or 20 cases) of experience in mediation. In other cases, legislation allows mediation as a method for resolving disputes between parties and certain government bodies.
Of the states with comprehensive state standards, most require more training for neutrals who want to mediate family disputes than for those interested in civil disputes. Private mediators don't need a license, but there are requirements for mediators who want to be on an approved list. Contact your local court for information about the lists of mediators and the requirements to receive court-sent mediations. To meet the requirements of listed mediators in Iowa, applicants who have a bachelor's degree or higher and have received 40 hours of mediation training can be included in the list of mediators. In Columbia, Maryland, there are no statewide certification requirements or standards for mediators related to the courts. It is recommended that all mediators meet the MTMA requirements, with the exception of those mediators whose functions are already recognized and prescribed in statutes, in executive, judicial, or administrative regulations, or through qualifications established by executive agencies that provide assistance in mediation.
While the Mediator will not provide you with legal advice, it will calculate child support according to the formula of the Maryland Child Support Guidelines. Miscellaneous points are also awarded to applicants licensed or certified in psychology, accounting, social work, mental health, health care, education or the practice of law or mediation, and for successfully completing a mediation training program (of a minimum duration of 30 hours). In states that have these requirements, mediators must receive approval or certification from the court for referral to be considered. Courts are encouraged to select mediators from the Mississippi Court's Annex Mediation Program List published by the Mississippi Bar Association. There are also certain rules for mediating in Missouri under Supreme Court Rules 17 (civil mediation) and 88 (domestic relations mediation). In order to be part of the judicial list, applicants must have successfully completed at least 40 hours of formal training in mediation, at least 10 hours of experience watching a mediator qualified for a court conduct mediation, and at least 10 hours conducting mediation alone or as a joint mediator with a qualified mediator for the court.